An Important Treatise on Creativity

In U2’s The Fly, they wrote: Every artist is a cannibal / every poet is a thief / all kill their inspiration / and sing about their grief.

If you have ever created, or you are close to someone who has, you have to go and watch this talk now. Please. Just 20 minutes of your life (though, if you are like me, you might rewind a few places, or want to listen to it again). Hell, you don’t even need sound, you can turn the subtitles on and read it if you can’t listen. I recommend listening to the speech however, it is excellent.

But whatever you do, please experience this talk.

Please?

As not just a hopeful amateur, but as a wholly damaged an insecure human being, this talk gave me a little something to cling to when the doubts bite too hard.

I have a Muse. You may have heard me refer to him. You may have thought I was being tongue-in-cheek, or cute, or whatever – believing that I was anthromophising the creative force within myself. But, no.

My Muse is almost as wilful and capricous as I am, and I love him and maybe even worship him a bit. I don’t like to talk about him, because I don’t want to hurt him by exposing him to people who don’t believe in what they can’t see or touch or feel. He is real. Intangible, yes, but as genuine and powerful as any fully intangible emotion that dumps its tidal waves on the shoreline of my psyche.

I fully believe that genius is not something you ARE is is something you HAVE. Maybe for a fleeting moment, maybe for all your life.

In parting, I would like to send a shout out to my friend Fjafjan, for sharing this link with me. And, I ask that if you take anything away from this speech, to please pass it on to the other artists and writers and musicians in your life.

Thank you.

~ by ghostwolfe on February 16, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
